CEW Celebrates the 2021 Achiever Awards

On Monday 29th November, CEW UK celebrated the 20th anniversary of the annual Achiever Awards bringing together the shining stars of the British beauty scene. Voted on by industry insiders and sponsored by Unilever, the awards recognise outstanding talent and contributions to the beauty industry.

CEW UK was delighted to announce the recipients of these coveted accolades ahead of the ceremony at The Rosewood Hotel.

Lifetime Achiever: Lisa Eldridge, Makeup Artist, Author, Broadcaster & Founder

Lisa Eldridge was the first professional makeup artist to build a huge social media following, disrupting the entire industry by sharing professional make-up techniques online. In doing so, she trained a myriad of ‘YouTube MUAs’ and earned the trust and respect of millions of passionate followers around the world.

Lisa launched her own brand in 2018 with a collection of lipsticks that went viral and sold out within hours. Since then, seasonal drops of products have driven rapid expansion – her online launches “break the internet” with tens of thousands of fans worldwide waiting online for products to ‘drop’ that then sell out within minutes.

This autumn, Lisa opened her first physical space, her pop-up studio ‘The House of Eldridge’ in London’s Covent Garden that consistently drew round the block queues when it opened at the end of October.

Special Industry Award: Aaron Chatterley, Co-Founder, Feelunique

Aaron co-founded Feelunique in 2005 and the business now turns over more than £100m p.a. selling more than 800 top beauty brands to over 100 countries. Aaron led a partial sale of the business to Private Equity in 2012 and recently sold the company to LVMH/Sephora.

A popular and trailblazing member of the Beauty Industry, Aaron is an active fund-raiser, investor and advisor in many tech and beauty businesses, including Curlsmith, Monpure London and Electric Hair Products and is currently working on a new brand launch.

Special Industry Award: Errol Douglas MBE, International Hairdresser of the Year

A favourite with clients and industry peers alike, Errol Douglas is globally recognised as an ultimate artisan within the hairdressing industry. Renowned for his stunning photographic, session and event work, he has won dozens of the world’s most coveted awards.

Errol holds the next generation of hairdressing close to his heart and has been awarded Patron of Honour by The Fellowship For British Hairdressing for which he is an ambassador. Perhaps the ultimate recognition was his MBE presented by HM The Queen in 2008, a special moment in a glittering career.

Achiever Award: Sue Fox, President, The Estée Lauder Companies UK & Ireland

Sue Fox has spent 26 years at The Estée Lauder Companies and continuously raises the bar for excellence in setting new strategic ambitions for the business in highly-competitive markets. Prior to moving to the UK, Sue served as General Manager of ELC’s Japan Affiliate and successfully drove the business in one of the most strategic and demanding consumer markets globally. During her time in Japan, she oversaw five consecutive quarters of net sales growth by focusing on emerging trends across categories, channel segments, and demographics.

Over her career, she has become well-known for her deep commitment to developing diverse talent and capabilities and for her work driving effective Citizenship and Sustainability programs.

Achiever Award: Sarah Jossel, Broadcaster, Beauty Director & Columnist at The Sunday Times

As the Beauty Director of The Sunday Times Style Sarah’s weekly column covers everything from plastic pollution and sustainability to cosmetic surgery, skincare, makeup, and hair. A must-read for consumers and industry insiders, she is renowned for her unbiased, honest opinion.

Over her twelve-year career in the beauty industry, she has worked for many publications, including Glamour, Harper’s Bazaar, and Vogue International.

Sarah is also a weekly host on This Morning, presenting beauty segments alongside Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield. In addition, she has built a successful video series with the Sunday Times, interviewing beauty experts and celebrities, with a new series soon to be announced.

Achiever Award: Colette Laxton & Mark Curry, Co-Founders and CEOs, The INKEY List

Colette Laxton and Mark Curry founded The INKEY List in 2018, born from a belief that better knowledge powers better decisions. They both felt passionately that there was a clear gap in the market for a brand who recognised that beauty can be confusing to navigate, and set out to create a brand that was simple to understand and easy to use. Having seen platforms full of communities that were turning to each other to get the answers they needed for their skin, Mark and Colette knew that spreading the beauty of knowledge needed to be at the heart of their business.

Today The INKEY List is stocked globally in leading retailers such as Sephora, Cult Beauty, Boots and Selfridges; their skin, hair and scalp products are multi-award winning; and their free #askINKEY, 24/7/365 human approach to customer service, truly lives up to their mission of democratising skincare.

Achiever Award: Dr Anna Persaud, CEO, ThisWorks and VP, Skincare & Topicals, Canopy Growth Anna joined ThisWorks in 2009, following an 11-year tenure with the LVMH group as Marketing Director, Parfums Christian Dior. In her role, Anna oversees all areas of the ThisWorks business, driving the company’s growth both at home in the UK and internationally, and she holds global responsibility for Canopy’s skincare and topical direction and innovation.

Anna led the acquisition of ThisWorks by Canopy Growth in 2019, and she ensures all products are put through rigorous and robust testing procedures while bringing her unique insight into all phases of product development. Anna plays a central role in driving forward Canopy’s vision of unleashing the power of cannabis to improve lives.

Digital Innovation Award Sponsored by Google: The Glow Getter

The Digital Innovation Award, sponsored by Google, looks for businesses that continue to innovate in digital technology to meet the growing expectations of the modern beauty consumer and this year the judging panel have awarded The Glow Getter with this prestigious award.

The Glow Getter is an online membership platform helping Indie Beauty Brands learn marketing and social media skills to clarify their message, create raving fans and grow their revenue so they can help to create happier people, a healthier planet and purposeful profit.

Young Achiever Award: Madeleine White, Founder & CEO, Juni Cosmetics Ltd

Madeleine White has been awarded the Young Achiever Award, nominated by the CEW members and selected by the Young Executive leadership team in recognition of her entrepreneurial talent, innovative approach and a clear vision for her brand Juni Cosmetics which she founded in 2018.

After working in the film industry as a make-up artist for several years and experiencing the buzzing world of fashion as a model, Madeleine was inspired to combine her passion for make-up, wellness, animal welfare and sustainability to develop and launch a new generation of luxury cosmetics.

Juni Cosmetics is an innovative beauty brand with sustainability at its core. Juni’s award winning products are 100% plastic-free, vegan, and focus on high performance, organic ingredients.

The 2021 CEW Achiever Awards are sponsored by Unilever, Very, Google, Landsec, Bank of America, Tribe Dynamics, LCBT and Twelve NYC.

For more information about CEW UK or the Achiever Awards, please visit

Post a Comment